Braves Nab Silver Slugger Awards

The Atlanta Braves won multiple honors at the 2023 Silver Slugger Awards.

Sixteen Major League Baseball teams won awards this year, with the Braves leading the pack with three wins. The Braves as a team won National League Offensive Team of the Year, while the World Champion Texas Rangers won the American League Offensive Team of the Year. Those two awards were decided by a combination of team offensive stats and the votes of baseball fans who cast their votes on, the league’s official website, during the last week of the regular season.

Matt Olson won NL’s first baseman of the Year, his first win in this category.

Austin Rilley was named NL third baseman of the year, his second win in the third baseman category.

For National League outfielder of the year, Braves Ronald Acuna, Jr. shared with the Los Angeles Dodgers Mookie Betts, and the San Diego Padres Juan Soto. This is Acuna’s third win in this category.


First Baseman: AL-Yandy Diaz (Rays)

Second Baseman: AL – Marcus Semien (Rangers); NL –Β  Luis Arraez (Marlins)

Shortstop: AL – Corey Seager (Rangers); NL – Francisco Lindor (Mets)

Third Baseman: AL – Rafael Devers (Red Sox)

Outfielders: AL- Luis Robert Jr. (White Sox); Julio Rodriquez (Mariners); Kyle Tucker (Astros)

Catchers: AL – Adley Rutschman (Orioles); NL – William Contreras (Brewers)

Designated Hitters: AL- Shohei Ohtani (Angels); NL – Bryce Harper (Phillies)

Utility: AL – Gunnar Henderson (Orioles); Cody Bellinger (Cubs)

Silver Slugger Awards are determined by MLB manager and coach votes.

Image sources: Atlanta Braves/X