Trae Young Frozen Out of Another NBA All Star Game

The biggest stars of the NBA will be at the All-Star game in Indianapolis later this month.

But Atlanta’s Trae Young won’t be one of them.

And neither will anyone else from the Atlanta Hawks for that matter.

Trae Young (Photo credit Erik Drost)

The snub came despite a reported 2.2 million fans voting for Young to join the 24-member All-Star group. There are two teams, consisting of five starters and seven reserves. The final players list was publicized this evening by the NBA.

In the Western Conference, Luka Doncic (Dallas Mavericks), Kevin Durant (Phoenix Suns), Shai Gilgeous-Alexander (OKC Thunder), LeBron James (L.A. Lakers) and Nikola Jokic (Denver Nuggets) made the starter list. Reserves are Devin Booker (Suns), Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors), Anthony Davis (Lakers), Anthony Edwards (Minnesota Timberwolves), Paul George (L.A. Clippers), Kawhi Leonard (Clippers), and Karl-Anthony Towns (Timberwolves).

Starters in the Eastern Conference are Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks), Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers), Tyrese Haliburton (Indiana Pacers), Damian Lillard (Bucks) and Jayson Tatum (Boston Celtics). Reserves on this team are Bamn Adebayo (Miami Heat), Paolo Banchero (Orlando Magic), Jaylen Brown (Celtics), Jalen Brunson (N. Y. Knicks), Tyrese Maxey (76ers) Donovan Mitchel (Cleveland Cavs), and Julius Randle (Knicks).

Young’s omission was a surprise and disappointment to Atlanta fans who believed that his record (27.0 PPG. 10.0 APG) would be enough to put him in the All Star roster this year. He was also skipped over for last year’s All-Star team.

The finalists for the All Star Game are chosen by a combination of fans (50% of the total vote, according to the NBA’s website), current players (25%) and media (25%). The captains for the teams (Antetokounmpo for the East, James for the West) were chosen by who recieved the most fan votes.

The game will be played on Sunday, February 18, 2024 in Indianapolis.