Transfer Portal Door Opens for Georgia, Tech Athletes

The doors have opened for both Georgia Bulldogs and Georgia Tech football athletes to head to other pastures as the college football season winds down.

At UGA, several players have announced they are entering the transfer portal. They are quarterback Brock Vangergriff, defensive lineman Jonathan Jefferson, outside linebacker Darris Smith, outside linebacker C.J. Madden, wide receiver Jackson Meeks, and offensive lineman Austin Blaske.

Vandergriff declared his exit from UGA this afternoon, stating on X/Twitter: “I will be entering the portal as a graduate transfer with two years of eligibility. I am excited for the opportunities that are ahead of me.” He has eight games this year as a backup quarterback for the Bulldogs.

Blaske also announced his portal transfer today. “I have been given so many blessings both as a student and athlete during my time at UGA,” he said on X/Twitter. “I have decided to enter my name in the transfer portal with two years of eligibility. Always, Go Dawgs!” He appeared at three games during 2023.

Madden appeared in eight games over two seasons at UGA. Meeks participated in special teams during his time at Athens. Jefferson played in seven games and got a single tackle.

At Georgia Tech, three players have announced their entry into the portal: running back Jamie Felix, cornerback Kenan Johnson, and defensive back Kyle Kennerd. Felix has an average of 3.5 yards per carry. Johnson had 29 tackles this year, 3 pass deflections, and an interception. Kennerd is credited with six sacks, two forced fumbles, and an interception this past season.