Falcons, Bally Sports, Others Nab Southeastern Emmy Nominations

The Atlanta Falcons multimedia team nabbed three nominations in the 2024 Southeast Emmy Awards, announced Sunday at an announcement party.

The Falcons were nominated for the documentary, Troy Andersen: Montana Roots, (Jenny Ross, Austin Hittel, Mark Whittingham, and Tori McElhaney); The 1998 Atlanta Falcons: Origin of the Dirty Birds (Taylor Vismor, Ross, Hittel, and Mick Hawkins), and Atlanta Falcons: Rookie Spotlight (Vismor, Whittingham, Dimitris Griffin, and Ross.)

The Falcons have been advancing their multimedia capabilities from their recently completed video production facility, launched just a year ago. Named Ticketmaster Studios, the facility, located at Falcons headquarters in Flowery Branch, produces Falcons-centric content for its website, YouTube channel, and other media.

Bally Sports South got five local nominations for their Braves and Hawks broadcasts, including three for live game telecasts. Former Braves Jeff Francoeur, Tom Glavine, John Smoltz and Chipper Jones, were nominated for the regional sports net’s Special Hall of Fame Booth.

WAGA-TV Fox 5 got two nominations for Sports Story: Part of the Family (Victor Prieto and Sudu Upadhyay) and All It Takes is 1 (Miles Garrett and Prieto).

WSB TV sports reporters Zach Klein and Alison Mastrangelo were among those nominated for the station’s UGA Back 2 Back Football Championship Parade. 

In other local Atlanta sports media Emmy nominations, Georgia Public Broadcasting got a nomination for its Georgia High School Football broadcasts, WSB’s Klein and Fox 5’s Justin Felder were nominated for best sports anchor, Bryan Oliver (Bally Sports South) and D.J. Shockley (Fox 5) were nominated for best sports analysis.

For local Spanish sports telecasts, MundoNow was nominated for Daniel Suarez: Inspiracion en NASCAR, while MundoHispanico Digital Network was nominated for Detras Del Espejo: El Lado Oscuro del Fitness.

A few sports categories had only one nominee and were not publicly released.

The awards will be passed out at a ceremony scheduled for Saturday, June 15, 2024 at the Grand Hyatt Atlanta, located in Buckhead.