Members of FIFA Women’s World Cup U.S. Soccer Team Named

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is around the corner, and the team that will be representing the U.S.A. has been selected.

The U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team used star power to announce the team members picked to head to Australia to compete for the championship. On Wednesday morning, the committee’s social media post featured luminaries like President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden, actress Mariska Hargitay, superstar Taylor Swift and rapper Little Wayne personally naming the selected team members.

For many of the 23 chosen athletes, like Megan Rapinoe, Alex Morgan, and Atlanta’s own Kelley O’Hara, this isn’t their first championship quest. Many of this year’s competing athletes are known for their previous participation in the 2019 FIFA World Cup and other competitions. Almost all of the athletes are currently members of National Women’s Soccer League clubs.

The official team list is as follows…


  • Aubrey Kingsbury
  • Casey Murphy
  • Alyssa Naeher


  • Alana Cook
  • Crystal Dunn
  • Emily Fox
  • Naomi Girma
  • Sofia Huerta
  • Kelley O’Hara
  • Emily Sonnett


  • Savannah DeMelo
  • Julie Ertz
  • Lindsay Horan
  • Rose Lavelle
  • Kristie Mewis
  • Ashley Sanchez
  • Andi Sullivan


  • Alex Morgan
  • Megan Rapinoe
  • Trinity Rodman
  • Sophia Smith
  • Alyssa Thompson
  • Lynn Williams

The team, which will be coached by Vlatko Andonovski, will compete in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, to be held in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 through August 20.